31
Dec
06

Convention Update

Yaoi Press won’t be exhibiting at Anime LA. When I saw that the Dealer’s Room was sold out I asked if I could cancel and they agreed.

We are booth 185 at New York Comic Con. I was able to resolve things, and get a 10×10 booth. I will be doing this convention with Moon Yen, a staff writer for Yaoi Press, and our East Coast convention person. She runs Otakon, Anime Next, and Katsu Con also. NYCC is by far the most expensive convention we will exhibit at. I’m debating on whether or not to get the booth catering which provides a sandwich for $15 or hot meal for $30. I resent this cost, but I know I may regret not arranging for meals during the 10 hour days.

Yaoi Press will not be exhibiting at Ohayo Con. I’m glad I had already decided this before I saw that the Dealer’s Room was sold out. The site was months and months of ‘Vendors information coming soon.’ Then boom, ‘Dealers Room sold out.’ This means that exhibitors were arranging things off of the web site. That’s fine for people who have exhibited in the past. What if I had wanted to participate? I’d emailed them about it and never got a response.

I am weeding out these smaller shows. The goal going forward is to attend conventions with at least 4,000 average attendence. Smaller than that doesn’t seem to be worth the effort (unless they’re local). We’re confirmed for the following:

Phoenix Cactus Con
Katsu Con
NYCC
Tour for the Cure
Wizard World LA
Tales of Anime
Sakura Con
Anime Florida
Jacon
Anime Next
San Diego Comic Con
Anime Las Vegas

0 Responses to “Convention Update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

