31
Oct
07

Yaoi Con Was A Delight

We’ve returned from Yaoi Con elated and exhausted. I’m still buzzing from this wonderful show!

Each year Yaoi Con manages to somehow be even better than the year before. Although I was unable to attend any of the signature events, my staff and guests told me how amazing the bishounen auction and masquerade were. What I experienced firsthand was an incredibly smooth, well-run, organized show. It’s a great example to me of how to put on a show right. You can see why fans still come from all over the country and the world. Yaoi Con is an experience!

I can’t count the times our guests Dany&Dany were happily overwhelmed. The Yaoi Con staff were amazing to them! They felt like true VIPs. The fans were kind, open, and outgoing. Both Danys said that in their home the people are kind, but not as open as the fans they met. They loved how easily their fans approached their table and spoke to them “as though they were old friends.”

I felt I made a strong connection with both Danys during the time I spent with them. I count them among my closest friends now. They’re such sweet women! I know I’ll see them again.

Dany&Dany are from Sardinia, an island off the coast of Italy. Although they’ve traveled to Germany and France in the past there were still things that surprised them in the United States. Friday night I asked them what they wanted for breakfast so I could get them room service the next morning. They were interested in pancakes. I described what it was to them. They didn’t know what maple syrup was. I told them it was sweet syrup from the sap of trees. They didn’t know the word ‘sap.’ They asked me if I meant that it was fruit flavored. “No,” I said. “It’s tree flavored.”

They looked at me dumbfounded. I tried to explain what sap was. They were thinking pine tar. They couldn’t imagine Americans ate something that seemed so disgusting! I was at a loss. It was great to see that there are still many things in the USA that are completely alien to our “cousins” in Europe. Even with the Internet and so many American shows airing there, they couldn’t understand maple syrup until they tried it the next morning. They loved it! They took the extra tiny bottle that came with breakfast to bring back with them to Italy.

There’s so much to talk about from Yaoi Con, but I’m drowning under a week’s worth of backed up work. I hope I’ll have a chance to do a full report after we return from Janicon.

Leave a Reply

